Scott’s life and stories have a rich association with many places across Scotland and further afield. Explore some of those sites on our interactive map.
Sign up to our mailing list for updates and news from Walter Scott 250 and the Abbotsford Trust.
Walter Scott described the Stones of Stenness in August 1814, mere months before one of the stones was destroyed.
Scott describes a stone ‘perforated with a round hole’. Known as the Odin Stone, it was blown up that winter by Captain W. Mackay. Annoyed at people crossing the land he leased, he resolved to dynamite the whole monument. Fortunately, the local community prevented him from doing further damage.
Scott supposes the flat stone was used for human sacrifices. No evidence supports this, but the circle, and heath at its centre, would likely have been a ceremonial space.
Find out more about Scott's work in connection to Stones of Stenness on our website.